Dust from the Book Fairy

School’s out!

Posted on: 15 June 2008

<!– @page { size: 8.5in 11in; margin: 0.79in } P { margin-bottom: 0.08in } –>

So, another school year wound down. I’ve actually been out for almost three weeks, but I’ve been spending my time cleaning and decluttering, reading books written above a 5th grade level and reading other edublogs and libraryblogs. I was inspired by some of these, like IMC Guy to post a reflection on my school year. I hope that reflecting on what worked and what didn’t this year will help me keep the good stuff and focus on improving the not so good.

Worked:

  1. Collaborated more with my teachers this year. I got a few more to work with me on some projects. Still not quite true collaborative projects, but we went beyond dropping just the kids off for library time. Best of all, I think the reading coach at my school and I have developed a good working relationship. We’ve worked together on several projects like developing a larger professional library, planning family reading night and Read Across America activities, , and I think that’s all to the good.

  1. Ran a weekly trivia contest to increase student use of the library. This increased my foot traffic, and I was able to do some point-of-need teaching when I asked questions that required the students to use the computer catalog. Plus, just general goodwill towards the library. The prizes were paperback books.

  2. Adopt an Ugly book project. I still plan on getting the pictures I took of this uploaded. Some of these turned out really well, and the books got an updated look.

  3. Took the fifth grade classes lightly stepping through the blogosphere. I’d like to do more of that with my school library blog. I envision a page of student book reviews and recommendations.

  4. Used the school newsletter to communicate with parents better.

  5. Got a grant to add Playaway audio books, which stayed checked out and reserved the entire rest of the year!

  6. Weeded out old, moldy dinosaur & space nonfiction sections and replaced with new shiny books. Weeded out old & moldy chapter fiction.

  7. Started circulating magazines.

  8. Didn’t always dread the Kindergarten classes.

Needs Work:

  1. I need to map out my curriculum a bit better. I want fifth graders to leave me able to locate books easily using the catalog and the call numbers, choose an appropriate and reliable source in print sources, subscription database and on the interwebs, and correctly c ite a source and understand why they have to cite sources. And I want them all to have found books that they love to read. I just need to plan out how to get them there.

  2. Figure out ways to get kids to return their books on time. I still lost some this year, and that bothers me.

  3. Recruit some reliable volunteers to help during book fair. Try advertising it more.

  4. Investigate fund raisers that might be easier to handle than book fairs but that make just as much, since book fair is half my operating budget.

That’s a start. Any suggestions would be welcome!

1 Response to "School’s out!"

Congrats on having some many successes and making it through another school year. It’s really cool to hear that you received a grant for Playaways. That’s something I’d like to see at our library.

Have a great summer!

Leave a Reply

